Clek Foonf vs Nuna RAVA

Two extended-rear-facing convertibles that both hold a child to 50 lb facing backwards — but the Foonf is 2 inches narrower with a steel anti-rebound bar and flame-retardant-free fabrics at $559.99, while the RAVA is 10 pounds lighter, $160 cheaper, and deliberately simpler.

Last reviewed: 2026-08-26. Specifications verified against Clek's official US Foonf product page (retrieved 2026-08-26) and Nuna's official US RAVA product page (retrieved 2026-08-23); recall databases re-checked this date (sources below).

Safety/recall note (checked 2026-08-26): The Foonf carries a remedy-issued historical campaign: NHTSA 21C005 covered Foonf models FO12–FO19 manufactured before May 21, 2021 (loose foam under the seat pad — choking hazard; free molded-plastic-insert remedy, ~150,599 units, owner letters mailed January 2022). The RAVA carries an active recall relevant to used seats: NHTSA 24C-002 covers 608,786 units manufactured July 16, 2016 – Oct 25, 2023 (harness adjuster button can jam); Nuna ships a free remedy kit and new seats carry corrected hardware.

The short answer

The Clek Foonf ($559.99 direct) is the engineering pick: at 16.9 inches wide it squeezes into backseats and 3-across plans where the 19-inch RAVA won't fit, its forward-facing REACT rigid-LATCH crumple zone and steel rear-facing anti-rebound bar add crash-energy management you can't retrofit, and the fabrics are certified flame-retardant-free and PFAS-free. The Nuna RAVA ($399.99 direct) is the simplicity pick: it's ready for a 5 lb newborn out of the box (the Foonf needs a separately-sold infant positioner below 14 lb), weighs 27.9 lb versus the Foonf's 33–38 lb, and installs with plain belt tension instead of a wall of hardware. Both are harness-only seats with no booster mode, and neither turns forward-facing early by accident — the Foonf allows it from 26.5 lb, the RAVA holds the line until 30 lb.

Side by side

Highlight:
Specifications — manufacturer-published figures (Clek retrieved 2026-08-26, Nuna retrieved 2026-08-23)
SpecClek FoonfNuna RAVA
TypeConvertible car seat (harness only)Convertible car seat (harness only)
RotationNoNo
Rear-facing limit14–50 lb (25–43 in); from 5 lb / 19 in with separately-sold Infant Thingy5–50 lb (18–49 in) — newborn-ready as purchased
Forward-facing limit26.5–65 lb (30–49 in); minimum age 1 year, 2+ recommended30–65 lb (34–49 in), at least 2 years old — enforced extended rear-facing
Booster modeNoneNone
Seat width16.9 in (base 13 in) — the 3-across contender19 in (L16 × W19 × H25)
Seat weight38 lb rear-facing / 33 lb forward-facing27.9 lb — easier to move between cars
Install systemREACT rigid-LATCH with energy-absorbing crumple technology (forward-facing); built-in rear-facing lock-offs; steel anti-rebound bar (rear-facing)Belt-tensioning install, deliberately minimal adjuster set
FootprintNot specified in sources retrieved (base depth 13 in)16 in shell depth (L16 per Nuna dims)
Harness heights8–17 in across 6 positionsNot specified in sources retrieved
List price$559.99 (Clek US direct, Aug 2026)$399.99 (Nuna US direct, Aug 2026)
MaterialsFlame-retardant-free and PFAS-free fabrics; EPP foam; metal substructureNot claimed in sources retrieved
Expiration9 yearsNot specified in sources retrieved
Recall statusChecked 2026-08-26. Foonf: remedy-issued NHTSA 21C005 applies only to seats built before May 21, 2021 (free insert remedy). RAVA: active NHTSA 24C-002 applies to seats built Jul 2016 – Oct 2023 (free remedy kit; new stock unaffected). Full details above.

Foonf figures per Clek's official US product page (clekinc.com, retrieved 2026-08-26). RAVA figures per Nuna's official US product page (retrieved 2026-08-23). We don't print prices we couldn't verify — both list prices are manufacturer-direct numbers captured on the dates cited.

Where the Foonf wins: narrow shells, engineered energy management, cleaner materials

At 16.9 inches wide with a 13-inch base, the Foonf fits backseats — center positions, third rows, three-across plans — where most convertibles simply don't. Its forward-facing REACT system converts the rigid-LATCH connection into a controlled crumple zone, and rear-facing you get a steel anti-rebound bar plus built-in lock-offs, so the seat manages crash energy instead of relying solely on strap tension. The structural headrest wraps deep side wings around an EPP-foam, metal-substructure core. And if chemical exposure drives your buying, Clek certifies the fabrics flame-retardant-free and PFAS-free — a claim we found nowhere in Nuna's published RAVA materials. The 9-year expiration and lifetime extended warranty stretch one purchase across two kids.

Where the RAVA wins: lighter lift, lower price, newborn-ready simplicity

The RAVA costs $160 less and weighs about 10 pounds less than the Foonf — meaningful when you're hauling a seat through airports or swapping it between grandparents' cars weekly. It's newborn-ready as purchased: rear-facing from 5 lb with no accessory to buy, while the Foonf needs its separately-sold Infant Thingy below 14 lb. The install philosophy is deliberately minimal — belt tension and little else — which many caregivers find faster to get right than managing lock-offs and rigid connectors. And the 30 lb forward-facing floor means extended rear-facing isn't a judgment call each caregiver has to make correctly; the seat enforces it.

Safety context: Both are FMVSS 213-certified seats sold in the US; there is no official crash-test ranking between brands. Keep children rear-facing to the maximum height or weight the seat allows, tighten the harness until you can't pinch slack, and register your seat so recall notices reach you. Used-seat shoppers: verify Foonf manufacture date against 21C005 (pre-May 2021 = order the free insert) and RAVA manufacture date against 24C-002 (2016–2023 build = order the free remedy kit). Check the CPSC and NHTSA databases for your exact model and date code before buying new or used.

Still deciding? Answer three questions.

Our verdict

Buy the Clek Foonf if your backseat is tight or shared — the 16.9-inch shell solves fit problems nothing else in this class does, and you're rewarded with rigid-LATCH crash engineering, certified-clean fabrics, and a 9-year service life worth handing down.

Buy the Nuna RAVA if you value the lighter lift: $160 cheaper, roughly 10 pounds lighter, newborn-ready from 5 lb out of the box, and the 30 lb forward-facing lockout keeps every caregiver honest about extended rear-facing.

Tie-breaker: narrow car, 3-across, materials-first household → Foonf. Frequent car swaps, newborn start, budget discipline → RAVA.

Where to buy: Clek Foonf — $559.99 direct from Clek US. Nuna RAVA — $399.99 direct from Nuna US. Neither seat had a verified fairly-priced Amazon US listing at our Aug 2026 checks, so we link manufacturers directly rather than substitutes.

View Clek Foonf — clekinc.com (unaffiliated) View Nuna RAVA — nunababy.com (unaffiliated) Both links are unaffiliated manufacturer links — we earn nothing if you buy. Prices change often — the vendor page shows the live number.

Sources

  1. Clek — official US Foonf product page: rear-facing 14–50 lb (25–43 in; Infant Thingy from 5 lb/19 in, sold separately), forward-facing 26.5–65 lb (30–49 in, minimum age 1 year), width 16.9 in (base 13 in), weight 38 lb RF / 33 lb FF, harness slots 8–17 in across 6 positions, 9-year expiration, REACT rigid-LATCH system, steel anti-rebound bar, flame-retardant-free and PFAS-free fabrics, listed price $559.99: clekinc.com/products/foonf/ (retrieved 2026-08-26)
  2. NHTSA — recall record 21C005: Clek Foonf FO12–FO19 and Fllo FL15–FL19 manufactured prior to May 21, 2021; loose foam under seat pad (choking hazard); remedy = free molded plastic insert; ~150,599 units; owner letters mailed 2022-01-28: nhtsa.gov/recalls?nhtsaId=21C005000 (retrieved 2026-08-26 via builds/lane-recall full pull)
  3. Nuna — official US RAVA product page: rear-facing 5–50 lb (18–49 in), forward-facing 30–65 lb (34–49 in, ≥2 years), dimensions L16 × W19 × H25, seat weight 27.9 lb, listed price $399.99: nunababy.com/usa/rava-convertible-car-seat (retrieved 2026-08-23)
  4. NHTSA — recall acknowledgment RCAK-24C002: 608,786 RAVA seats manufactured 2016-07-16 through 2023-10-25, harness adjuster button may jam; free remedy kit: static.nhtsa.gov/odi/rcl/2024/RCAK-24C002-1856.pdf (retrieved 2026-08-23)
  5. CSFTL (Car Seats For The Littles) — RAVA recall summary: csftl.org/recall-nuna-rava/ (retrieved 2026-08-23)
  6. Recall sweeps: full CPSC SaferProducts.gov pull + NHTSA campaign set searched 2026-08-24 ('foonf', 'rava' tokens); site sweep re-run 2026-08-26 via builds/lane-recall pipeline — Foonf 21C005 remedy-issued (historical), RAVA 24C-002 is the only open Nuna car-seat campaign.
  7. Amazon pricing: fail-closed for both seats — no verified US ASIN listing at publish time (RAVA searches returned accessories only; Foonf no verified listing). Prices printed are manufacturer-direct list prices captured on the dates cited.
Affiliate disclosure: some links on this page may be affiliate links; on this particular comparison all buy links are unaffiliated manufacturer links because no qualifying marketplace listing was verified. This never influences our verdicts. Specifications verified 2026-08-23/26 against the sources above; recall status re-checked 2026-08-26. This site provides general information, not medical advice. As an Amazon Associate, comparebabystuff.com earns from qualifying purchases.