Diono Radian 3RXT vs Cybex Sirona S

Two premium convertibles with opposite superpowers — the 3RXT is a 17-inch three-across specialist that boosts to 120 lb, while the Sirona S swivels 360° so you never twist to load your child. Here's which trade fits your car and your back.

Last reviewed: 2026-08-27. Specifications verified against Diono's official support knowledge base and CYBEX's official US product page (retrieved 2026-08-23); recall databases re-checked this date (sources below).

Safety/recall note (checked 2026-08-26): No active recalls for either seat. A Transport Canada recall announced February 2025 covers Radian SafePlus variants (3QX/3QXT/3R SafePlus/3RXT SafePlus built Dec 2019–Nov 2024) — the plain Radian 3RXT is not on the affected-model list; Diono's US safety-notices page was in maintenance at check time, so recheck before purchase. For the Sirona S, sweeps of the full CPSC SaferProducts.gov database and NHTSA found nothing; the historical 2022 headrest-foam recall covered the Sirona M only.

The short answer: Diono Radian 3RXT or Cybex Sirona S?

The Diono Radian 3RXT is the space-efficiency pick: a 17-inch-wide shell built for three-across installs, rear-facing from 5 to 50 lb, then harnessing to 65 lb and boosting as a highback up to 120 lb. The Cybex Sirona S with SensorSafe is the convenience-and-tech pick: one-hand 360° rotation, rear-facing from 4 to 50 lb, a SensorSafe chest clip that alerts your phone, and an L.S.P. side-impact system — but it stops at the harness (no booster mode) and weighs over 30 lb.

Side by side

Highlight:
Specifications — manufacturer-published figures (retrieved 2026-08-23)
SpecDiono Radian 3RXTCybex Sirona S w/ SensorSafe
TypeConvertible car seat (harness + booster)Rotating convertible car seat (harness only)
RotationNoOne-hand 360° swivel
Rear-facing limit5–50 lb4–50 lb
Forward-facing limit22–65 lb (harness until 65 lb)25–65 lb (harness to 65 lb total, max 49 in; LATCH limits RF 30 / FF 35)
Booster modeHighback booster up to 120 lbNone
Seat width17 in (H28.5 × W17 × D16) — three-across friendly19 in (L24.5 × W19 × H25.5)
Seat weight25.9 lb30.4 lb
ExtrasBooster mode extends usable life to 120 lbSensorSafe Bluetooth chest-clip alerts; L.S.P. side-impact protection
List priceNot verified at publish time — Diono's US store was in maintenance and CYBEX's price renders via script (both checked 2026-08-23). Neither seat had a verified Amazon US buy box; check current pricing directly.
Recall statusNo active recalls for either model as of 2026-08-26. Transport Canada Feb 2025 action covers Radian SafePlus variants only; 2022 CYBEX action covered Sirona M only. Full details above.

Radian 3RXT figures per Diono's official support knowledge base (max height/weight and booster-mode articles). Sirona S figures per CYBEX's official US product page. Prices were not verifiable from either channel at check time — we don't print numbers we can't source.

Where the Diono Radian 3RXT wins: slim fit and lifespan

Seventeen inches wide changes what's possible: two other seats beside it, or a fit in the center position of a small car that 19-inch shells can't manage. The 3RXT also outlives the Sirona S by years — its highback booster mode runs to 120 lb, covering roughly ages 4 through 10+ that a harness-only seat can't. And at 25.9 lb it's nearly five pounds lighter, noticeable if you ever travel with or transfer the seat.

Where the Cybex Sirona S wins: swivel rotation and tech

The 360° swivel is the feature parents miss most once they've had it: turn the seat to face the door, buckle, spin forward — no hunching into the backseat, no twisting your spine with a sleeping toddler. SensorSafe adds a phone alert if the chest clip unbuckles mid-drive, if the cabin gets hot, or if a child is left behind. Rear-facing starts a pound lower (4 lb), and CYBEX's L.S.P. system adds structured side-impact protection. What you give up: booster years and four inches of width.

Safety context: Both are FMVSS 213-certified seats sold in the US; there is no official crash-test ranking between brands. Keep children rear-facing to the maximum height or weight the seat allows, tighten the harness until you can't pinch slack, and register your seat so recall notices reach you. If considering a used Radian, confirm it's the plain 3RXT (not a SafePlus variant) and check the Transport Canada list. Check the CPSC and NHTSA databases for your exact model and date code before buying new or used. AAP guidance endorses keeping children rear-facing to the maximum height or weight their seat allows.

Still deciding? Answer three questions.

Our verdict

Buy the Diono Radian 3RXT if you need three across, a slim center fit, or one seat that genuinely lasts to 120 lb in booster mode. It's the pragmatic long-haul choice.

Buy the Cybex Sirona S if you load your child multiple times a day and value your back — the swivel plus SensorSafe make it the most convenient seat in this pairing, and rear-facing starts at 4 lb for newborns.

Tie-breaker: three kids, small car, or budget-per-year math → 3RXT. Newborn start, bad back, tech-forward household → Sirona S.

Where to buy: Neither seat had a verified Amazon US listing at our last check (fail-closed — we won't link substitutes). Both brands sell direct.

View Radian 3RXT — diono.com (unaffiliated) View Sirona S — cybex-online.com (unaffiliated) Both links go directly to the manufacturers and are unaffiliated — we earn nothing if you buy. Availability was re-checked Aug 2026.

Model identity

Manufacturer model numbers — neither maker prints a model number in the documentation we verified; the number is on the seat's label, so we record UNKNOWN rather than guess.
ModelBrandManufacturer model number
Radian 3RXTDionoUNKNOWN — not stated in Diono's official support documentation we verified
Sirona S (SensorSafe)CybexUNKNOWN — not stated on CYBEX's official US product page we verified

Sources

  1. Diono — official support KB: maximum height/weight for Radian 3RXT (rear-facing max 50 lb, harness to 65 lb): diono.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/18545341212819 (retrieved 2026-08-23; Cloudflare-gated, figures via search-indexed snippets)
  2. Diono — official support KB: Radian 3RXT booster mode (highback booster until 120 lb; dims H28.5 × W17 × D16, seat 25.9 lb): diono.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/18550207825811 (retrieved 2026-08-23)
  3. CYBEX — official US Sirona S with SensorSafe product page: rear-facing 4–50 lb, harness total 4–65 lb max 49 in, LATCH RF 30 / FF 35, dimensions L24.5 × W19 × H25.5, 30.4 lb, 360° rotation, SensorSafe, L.S.P.: cybex-online.com/en/us/p/cs-go-sirona-s-sensorsafe-3.html (retrieved 2026-08-23)
  4. Transport Canada — recall notice: Radian 3QX/3QXT/3R SafePlus/3RXT SafePlus built Dec 2019–Nov 2024 (plain 3RXT not listed): tc.canada.ca/en/road-transportation/defects-recalls-vehicles-tires-child-car-seats/diono-radian-3qx-car-seats-non-compliance-canada-motor-vehicle-safety-standards (retrieved 2026-08-23)
  5. SafetyBeltSafe USA — third-party recall list: Sirona S shown with no recalls/warnings: carseat.safetybeltsafeusa.org (retrieved 2026-08-23)
  6. Recall sweeps: full CPSC SaferProducts.gov pull + NHTSA campaign set searched 2026-08-24 ('radian', '3rxt', 'sirona' tokens); site sweep re-run 2026-08-26 via builds/lane-recall pipeline — no matches for either model beyond the variant-specific actions above.
  7. Pricing: Diono US store in maintenance and CYBEX price JS-rendered at check time 2026-08-23; Amazon Creators API searches returned no verified 3RXT/Sirona S buy boxes (fail-closed) — prices intentionally not printed.
  8. Guidance context (not product data): AAP recommends children ride rear-facing to the maximum height or weight their seat allows (healthychildren.org).
Affiliate disclosure: some links on this page may be affiliate links; on this specific page all retailer links are unaffiliated manufacturer links and we earn nothing from purchases. This never influences our verdicts. Specifications verified 2026-08-23 against the sources above; recall status re-checked 2026-08-26. This site provides general information, not medical advice. As an Amazon Associate, comparebabystuff.com earns from qualifying purchases.